How to Save Changes Without Publishing in WordPress?

0
276

Do you want to learn the way to save changes without publishing posts in WordPress?

You come across such a situation while using WordPress where you need to rewrite the published posts but do not want to update the changes in the live posts. If you are seeking a way to save the changes on the pot without publishing it you have come to the right article. 

In this article, we are using plugins to tackle this problem. We have mentioned the easiest way to address the problem. Without further delay, let’s begin:

Reason to Save Changes Without Publishing Posts in WordPress

WordPress is definitely the easiest way to add new blogs posts. But, sometimes we need to make changes in those blogs without overwriting the content. Additionally, you may want to update the post as a draft. This process can be useful if you are unsure about the draft or you are linked to a multi-author blog and all the updates have to be monitored before it goes live. 

After finishing the changes, by default, you can switch back to the draft and again republish them. But, this might lead to a 404 error which can surely affect the user interface and SEO as well. 

Fortunately, what you can do is make a clone version of the posts on your site and merge them into the published posts after finishing the changes. Here you go with the steps to save changes in your WordPress without publishing the post:

Steps to Save Changes Without Publishing the WordPress Posts

Here, we are using Duplicate Post plugin. The work of the plugin is to make a duplicate copy of the posts consisting of all the data and information where all the changes are saved as a draft until you merge them with the original post and update it. 

Let’s start:

  • Head to Pages >> All Pages, hover over the post and you will get the “Rewrite & Republish” option.
  • On the next screen, you will find the exact copy of the post in the post editor screen. This is the place where you can make as many changes as you want. Make sure you click on the “Save Draft” link at the top right corner.
  • The post will be named as the previous one but there will be “Draft, Rewrite, & Republish” beside the name.
  • To make the changes live all you need to do is click on the “Republish ” button. You will be asked if you want to republish as well as merge the new changes to the live post, you need to again click the “Republish” button. 
  • This plugin also has the function to review the changes. For this, you need to click on the “Compare” button.
  • A side-by-side revision screen will appear where you can see the changes highlighted in green. Go through your changes and if you think it is perfect, click on the “Return to editor” link.
  • On top of that, you can also change the date. If only you want to live the post in the future, click on the ” Republish” option and simply change the date and time in the future. Then, again click republish button.
  • Finally, you will get a notification at the top of the screen that “Your original post has been replaced with the rewritten post.”

Hence, in this way you have successfully saved the changes without publishing the WordPress posts.

Wrapping up

Lastly, we hope this tutorial was beneficial for you. If you have any confusion do let us know in the comment section below. Also, visit our other tutorial “How to Save Your WordPress Posts as Draft?” for more information about WordPress posts.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here